Butler County Chapter


The Butler County Chapter extends greetings to all our #1 alumni, friends, and fans.  We have truly experienced a banner year both academically and with all our team sports.  This year promises to be even more exciting.

Congratulations to all our area students who have chosen the University to be a part of their educational experiences.  Enjoy these years at the Capstone as they will be the foundation of many lasting Crimson memories.

Thanks for all your continued support and participation in our local alumni events.  We invite your ideas and suggestions to improve our local chapter and appreciate your input.

Mack Russell
Butler County, Chapter President

UA Box A logo

Mack Russell

Chapter President

Chapter Officers

2016-2017 Chapter Officers

President: Elizabeth Matthews

Vice President: Van Huggins

Secretary: Amy O’Connor

Treasurer: Sue Arnold

Student Recruitment Coordinator: Marianne Russell

Chapter Scholarship Co-Chairmen: Vivian McGowin and Susie Snow

Scholarship Information

The Butler County Alumni Chapter is in the process of establishing a scholarship in honor of Colin “Big C” MacGuire.

Please come join us at the fund raising event on May 12, 2017 at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail – Cambrian Ridge – Greenville, AL
Registration at 12 p.m. – Shotgun begins at 1:00 p.m.

Click here to REGISTER NOW

Flyer of the Colin "Big C. MacGuire endowed Scholarship Golf Tournament

On April 16, 2011 the Butler County Alumni Chapter honored Pat Whetstone, a Greenville native, by establishing the “Louis Clyde ‘Pat’ Whetstone Jr. endowed scholarship,” which has been established fully endowed in perpetuity.

The framed certificate presented to Pat reads: “The Butler County Alumni Chapter of the National Alumni Association honors Pat Whetstone for his leadership, commitment and service while serving twenty years as both directof of Alumni Affairs and Executive Secretary of the National Alumni Association, by establishing the Louis Clyde ‘Pat’ Whetstone Jr. endowed scholarship this 16th day of April, 2011.”

Group of people standing in room with white wall and lady in center holding plaque.

The supporting Memorandum of Agreement reads: “His wise counsel has earned respect from his friends, colleagues, and acquaintances. His leadership and commitment have been a guiding force, growing and strengthening the Alumni Association beyond all expectations. Through his vision and determination, he has assured a bright future for the Alumni Association adn his contributions will continue to have a positive influence on the University’s students, alumni, faculty, and staff for years to come.”

The Butler County Endowed Scholarship was established in June 1989 and reached the endowment level in September 1995.  Our corpus balance as of June 30, 2010 is $24,980.02.   A list of scholarship winners is below.

2016   Kendall Lambert (Fort Dale Academy), Hannah Miller (Fort Dale Academy), Mary Margaret LeCoq (Greenville High School), Jessica Little (Fort Dale  Academy), Tripp Deshields (Fort Dale Academy)

2015   Hayden Davis (Fort Dale Academy), Cailyn Thompson (Fort Dale Academy), Kristian Jordan (Alabama Math and Science School)

2014   Nedra Toulmin Crosby (Fort Dale Academy), Haley Williams (Fort Dale Academy), Hill Dunklin (Fort Dale Academy), Hannah Johnson (Fort Dale Academy), Erica McNaughton (Fort Dale Academy), Riona Gordon (Greenville High School), Laquantra Seawright (Greenville High School), Asia Crenshaw (Greenville High School)

2013   Anne Matthews (Fort Dale Academy), Patrick Russell (Fort Dale Academy), Will Davis (Fort Dale Academy), Katie Cox (Fort Dale Academy),  Stevie Marie Castleberry (Fort Dale Academy), Taylor Windham (Fort Dale Academy)

2012   David Miller (Fort Dale Academy), Lauren Lewis (Fort Dale Academy), Mitchell Lewis (Fort Dale Academy), Perry Singleton (Fort Dale Academy), Taylor Autrey (Fort Dale Academy), Senia Powell (Greenville High School), Leandria R. Peterson (Greenville High School)

2011   Sarah James (Fort Dale Academy), Karli Boulware (Fort Dale Academy)

2010    Isabella P. Wesley – Fort Dale Academy

2009    Rosemary U. Russell – Fort Dale Academy

2008    Andrew L. Jones – Fort Dale Academy, Rebecca Tyler  Manning Casey – Fort Dale Academy

2007    Cory B. Johnson – Fort Dale Academy

2006    Jacob D. Hartin – Georgianna High School

2005    Anna Kate Davis – Fort Dale Academy

2004    Meaghan Elizabeth Till

2003    Natalie S. Hartman – Greenville High School

2002    Robert Miles Hulick – Fort Dale Academy

2001    Robert Ranson Cole

2000    Leah Margaret Utley – Greenville High School

1999    Andrew Thomas Coleman – Greenville High School

1998    Jennie Bennett Katz – Fort Dale Academy

1997    Martha Alice Faulk

1986    Damon Hall,  Johnny Hobbie – Fort Dale Academy

1986    Karen Smith

1982    James McDonald “Mack” Russell – Fort Dale Academy (first year scholarship awarded)

In October of 2016, the Butler County Alumni group hosted representatives from the University to discuss with prospective students a program known as ASAP (Alabama Student Assistance Program) . The Representatives answered questions and assisted the students in filling out in paperwork needed to be eligible for Scholarship programs.

asap-program-2 asap-program